GBH Openvault

Forsyte Saga, The; Dinner At Smithins


License Clip

More material may be available from this program at the GBH Archives. If you are a researcher interested in accessing the collection at GBH, please email

This program has not been digitized yet or cannot be made available on Open Vault.

Forsyte Saga, The
Dinner At Smithins
Program Number


Series Description

The original (1969) version of the Forsyte Saga that started it all! Spanning 50 years in the lives of an upper middle-class family, from the wealth and security of the mid-Victorian era through the Edwardian high-noon to a post-War world of change, strikes and social malaise. Galsworthy shows the strengths, weaknesses, triumphs and failings of the extraordinary Forsyte clan against a detailed social history. There are 120 speaking parts in the series. (B&W) Series release date: 1969



Asset Type

Broadcast program

Media Type


Chicago: “Forsyte Saga, The; Dinner At Smithins,” 01/26/1977, GBH Archives, accessed January 26, 2022,
MLA: “Forsyte Saga, The; Dinner At Smithins.” 01/26/1977. GBH Archives. Web. January 26, 2022. <>.
APA: Forsyte Saga, The; Dinner At Smithins. Boston, MA: GBH Archives. Retrieved from
If you have more information about this item, we want to know! Please contact us, including the URL.