GBH Openvault

American Experience; Goin' Back to T-Town


Complete Show

License Clip

This program cannot be made available on Open Vault.

More material may be available from this program at the GBH Archives. If you would like research access to the collection at GBH, please email

American Experience
Goin' Back to T-Town
Program Number


Series Description

Premiered October 1988 As television's longest-running, most-watched history series, American Experience brings to life the incredible characters and epic stories that helped form this nation. Now in its eighteenth season, the series has produced over 180 programs and garnered every major broadcast award. Series release date: 10/1988

Program Description

This program explores the rise and decline of Greenwood, an extraordinary black community in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Greenwood had its heyday in the segregated era of the 1920s and 1930s, and by 1936, the neighborhood boasted the largest concentration of black businesses in the United States. However, it could not survive the progressive policies of integration and urban renewal of the 1960s. In a nostalgic celebration of old-fashioned neighborhood life, the black residents of T-Town relive their community's remarkable rise and ultimate decline. Ossie Davis narrates.



Asset Type

Broadcast program

Media Type


Chicago: “American Experience; Goin' Back to T-Town,” 09/15/1992, GBH Archives, accessed December 10, 2023,
MLA: “American Experience; Goin' Back to T-Town.” 09/15/1992. GBH Archives. Web. December 10, 2023. <>.
APA: American Experience; Goin' Back to T-Town. Boston, MA: GBH Archives. Retrieved from
If you have more information about this item, we want to know! Please contact us, including the URL.