open Vault

WGBH Media Library and Archives

Poetry Breaks for Schools and Libraries: Philip Levine

  • Cite

Phillip Levine introduces and reads the following poems:
"Belle Isle 1949"
"Grandmother in Heaven"
"For Fran"
"Sweet Will"
"What Work Is"
"A Late Answer"

Philip Levine was born in Detroit, Michigan, in 1928. He is the author of sixteen books of poetry, most recently The Mercy (1998). His other poetry collections include The Simple Truth (1994), which won the Pulitzer Prize; What Work Is (1991), which won the National Book Award; 7 Years From Somewhere (1979), which won the National Book Critics Circle Award; and The Names of the Lost (1975), which won the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize. He has also published a collection of essays, The Bread of Time: Toward an Autobiography (1994). He has received the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the Harriet Monroe Memorial Prize for Poetry, and two Guggenheim Foundation fellowships. For two years he served as chair of the Literature Panel of the National Endowment for the Arts. He lives in New York City and Fresno, California, and teaches at New York University.

Produced and directed by Leita Hagemann Luchetti.

"Poetry Breaks," conceived by Leita Hagemann Luchetti and co-produced by Luchetti and WGBH New Television Workshop, is an ongoing series of over 100 thirty-second to four-minute spots presenting internationally known poets reading their work on location. These have aired individually on WGBH and public television stations across the country. The Workshop collaborated with Luchetti until its closing in 1993, at which point the works became co-productions of Luchetti and the larger WGBH Foundation.

"Poetry Breaks II," produced from 1991-1994, began airing on WGBH-TV in 1994, and was also broadcast by dozens of other public television stations throughout the country starting in 1994. Between 1995 and 1997, three new poets were taped for Poetry Breaks III.
Oral interpretation of poetry, Poetry, Poetry reading
Tags (0)
Add Tag Add Annotation