WGBH Openvault

Say Brother; Our Black Elected Officials

License Clip

More material is available from this program at the WGBH Archive. If you are a researcher interested in accessing the collection at WGBH, please email archive_requests@wgbh.org.

Undigitized item: Request Digitization

Untranscribed item: Request Transcription

Say Brother
Our Black Elected Officials
Program Number


Series Description

Say Brother is WGBH's longest running public affairs television program by, for and about African Americans, and is now known as Basic Black. Since its inception in 1968, Say Brother has featured the voices of both locally and nationally known African American artists, athletes, performers, politicians, professionals, and writers including: Muhammad Ali, Maya Angelou, Thomas Atkins, Amiri Baraka, Doris Bunte, Julian Bond, Stokely Carmichael, Louis Farrakhan, Nikki Giovanni, Odetta Gordon, Henry Hampton, Benjamin Hooks, Jesse Jackson, Hubie Jones, Mel King, Eartha Kitt, Elma Lewis, Haki Madhubuti, Wallace D. Muhammad, Charles Ogletree, Babatunde Olatunji, Byron Rushing, Owusu Sadaukai, and Sonia Sanchez. Series release date: 7/15/1968

Program Description

Live in-studio with video roll-ins. Elliott Francis talks with black elected officials on how citizens can direct their concerns to appropriate officials. Viewers call in and speak to guests.



Asset Type

Broadcast program

Media Type


Race and Ethnicity
Chicago: “Say Brother; Our Black Elected Officials,” WGBH Media Library & Archives, accessed May 23, 2019, http://openvault.wgbh.org/catalog/V_95CC05ADB6F64DEC90A4C31E6E64F0DD.
MLA: “Say Brother; Our Black Elected Officials.” WGBH Media Library & Archives. Web. May 23, 2019. <http://openvault.wgbh.org/catalog/V_95CC05ADB6F64DEC90A4C31E6E64F0DD>.
APA: Say Brother; Our Black Elected Officials. Boston, MA: WGBH Media Library & Archives. Retrieved from http://openvault.wgbh.org/catalog/V_95CC05ADB6F64DEC90A4C31E6E64F0DD
If you have more information about this item, we want to know! Please contact us, including the URL.