WGBH Openvault

Forsyte Saga, The; Pursuit Of Happiness


License Clip

More material is available from this program at the WGBH Archive. If you are a researcher interested in accessing the collection at WGBH, please email archive_requests@wgbh.org.

Undigitized item: Request Digitization

Untranscribed item: Request Transcription

Forsyte Saga, The
Pursuit Of Happiness
Program Number


Series Description

The original (1969) version of the Forsyte Saga that started it all! Spanning 50 years in the lives of an upper middle-class family, from the wealth and security of the mid-Victorian era through the Edwardian high-noon to a post-War world of change, strikes and social malaise. Galsworthy shows the strengths, weaknesses, triumphs and failings of the extraordinary Forsyte clan against a detailed social history. There are 120 speaking parts in the series. (B&W) Series release date: 1969



Asset Type

Broadcast program

Media Type


Chicago: “Forsyte Saga, The; Pursuit Of Happiness,” 01/19/1977, WGBH Media Library & Archives, accessed July 17, 2019, http://openvault.wgbh.org/catalog/V_31E2372B14694480869376CA3C72C895.
MLA: “Forsyte Saga, The; Pursuit Of Happiness.” 01/19/1977. WGBH Media Library & Archives. Web. July 17, 2019. <http://openvault.wgbh.org/catalog/V_31E2372B14694480869376CA3C72C895>.
APA: Forsyte Saga, The; Pursuit Of Happiness. Boston, MA: WGBH Media Library & Archives. Retrieved from http://openvault.wgbh.org/catalog/V_31E2372B14694480869376CA3C72C895
If you have more information about this item, we want to know! Please contact us, including the URL.